Why Do Girls Dress the Way They Do?

4 07 2010

     I have always known that modesty was important, that I needed to help out my guy friends, and it was something that was expected of me from my family. I have never wanted to dress immodestly but just within the past couple of weeks I have really begun to understand the vast importance of dressing modestly. Why? Well, I don’t want to do or wear anything that will make you stumble. It’s that simple. I want your respect and I want you to know I respect you. I also want you to know I respect myself and how I dress can show all of this.

     But why do girls dress the way they do? Honestly, a lot of  it is a self-image issue, a respect issue, and a love issue. It’s a self-image issue because the world is telling me that I have to be a size double O jean, have every guys attention, and do my hair a certain way. The way the world sees girls defines a lot of girls self-image. They aren’t a double O, not all the guys are attracted to them, and their hair just doesn’t work like she want’s it to, therefore she deems herself as hopelessly flawed and worthless. So in order to change that feeling of worthlessness,  she tries to wear a double O (even though that makes her jeans way to tight) and then wears tops that are revealing because she knows she will get a guys attention that way (even though that’s not the kind of attention she really want’s). She views herself as nothing unless she looks like the airbrushed model in the magazine, and has the attention of boys.

     It’s a respect issue because, like I said, she views herself as worthless, therefore she has little to no respect for herself. By flaunting her body she is showing that she does not respect her body or herself. To me, it also shows that she doesn’t expect the respect of you either, although that is usually a subconscious thing because girls are always complaining about the lack of respect that the guys show them. I just want to  say “Look at what you are wearing. Of course they don’t respect you.” But I have always held back haha.

     It’s a love issue. You know why? Because she can’t love herself so she wants yours. She can’t get it by being herself, remember? because she thinks she’s worthless so why would anybody want her? She can only get your “love” by flaunting the sex appeal. Usually the love issue always stems from something like the lack of love she has gotten at home. Maybe her dad wasn’t around, or maybe he was physically but not emotionally. Whatever the reason, she wants to feel love by getting the attention from guys. When you get the feeling that’s what a girl wants, for you to fill a void, that should be a red flag because you can’t fill it. It doesn’t matter how hard you try.

     I think that a lot of this isn’t processed by the girls while they are in it. But a lot of women say the same things I’ve said once they step back and look at their past, or even their present. Once Jesus is the main focus and HE is what they are striving to please they realize why they dressed and acted in certain ways; to please others not God.

     The bottom line is, girls want your attention and we know how to get it. We know that if we dress ourselves a certain way and/or act a certain way that we will get a guys attention. The question is, is it the right kind of attention? No, and the kind of guys that respond to this kind of behavior aren’t the kind of guys that any girl should be willing to lower herself to.


Actions

Information

2 responses

10 07 2010
Eli

Very well said, good job. I love the end where you said…
“…and the kind of guys that respond to this kind of behavior aren’t the kind of guys that any girl should be willing to lower herself to.”
this is so true, do not lower yourselves… God made you girls for us guys to love exactly the way you are.

11 07 2010
Christine

You amaze me with your insightful thoughts and I think you are “right on” on the issue of immodest dress!!! You are a true example to the younger generation. You are living out 1 Timothy 4:12. Thank you for setting an example to my 4 kids – the next generation. Don’t let anyone tell you, you can’t be a mature and growing godly woman at age 17!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

