Brothers

12 03 2010

For those of you who are brothers and you have sisters, pay attention.

I am the only girl in my family. I have two older brothers who I can honestly say are a big part of why I started this blog. They have always treated me like I’m special and wanted while still throwing in some of that tough brotherly love =) They have taught me that I don’t need the attention of guys because I will always have their attention and approval. I don’t think they sat down when they we 11 and said “Okay! We are going to teach Kelly that we want her and think she’s special!” But I do think that my parents did a good job raising them to show me that without knowing they showed me…I hope that just made sense…

I have never felt the pressure of dating because I don’t need it. In my last post I said that its scientifically proven that girls without solid men in their lives, seek approval from guys the most. Well, I have had a dad and brothers to show me that I can (and should) lean on them, not a boyfriend. So this shout out to brothers, is to challenge you to be there for your sister! You have full rights to be protective. She may not act like she likes it, and maybe she doesn’t at times, but there is something comforting about knowing that you could go to your brother and know he would beat the kid up if you needed him to! =P Show her how she deserves to be treated! When you treat her well, it tells her that there are guys who will treat her well, that she doesn’t have to lower her standards, and that you will always be there for her.  Let her know you love her!

Now, I’m not telling you that my brothers are perfect and that you all need to be just like them. That is totally not the case. They are awesome but they are still my brothers, we still have had our share of fights, disagreements, and sibling rivalry (or whatever you want to call it..), but in all of this (which in some cases there has been a lot.) they have still taught me what good relationships are. I think that how you treat your sisters, and even your mom’s, show’s a lot about how you will treat your girlfriend and ultimately how you will treat your wife.

And to my brothers….Thank you for being so awesome and for teaching me so much! I love you guys!

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 03 2010
Jeremy

Hey Kelly. I’m proud of you for taking the time to writing this blog, and to share something that you are so passionate about. Love you too!

12 03 2010
Chad

Kelly,
I really enjoy keeping up with your blog and seeing the passion which you have to express the words Christ has given you. Love you and keep up the great word.
Chad

Leave a Reply

