Absolutes

21 05 2010

Are there moral absolutes? No? Are you absolutely sure? This is a hot topic in our world today. A few worldviews tell us that there are not moral absolutes, while others say that there is. Christianity definitely believes that morality has absolutes, and God expects Christians to follow these absolutes. But then we have the Cosmic Humanist worldview that says we are our own god, and that if our inner god tells us to do something, we should do it. “What’s right for you, might not be right for me! It’s simply all relative..”

I recently had a heated discussion with my cousin about abortion and morality, and he said “The truth is Kelly, we live in a grey world..” AHH! No we don’t.  Isn’t murder wrong? Killing people is wrong, so is rape, and abuse. How many ways are there to spell the word absolute? Only one, therefore it is an absolute. If there were no absolutes then this relativist worldview is hypocritical. A friend of mine put it this way:

“The relativist has a self refuting worldview because the relativist is absolute about relativism. When you remove Truth and Absolutes, the end result is CHAOS.”

How much clearer can you get? The thought of relativism is absolute. It simply contradicts itself.

The most absolute thing in this world is this:

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14:6 There is nothing relative about that very solid verse in the Bible.

The Bible is full of absolutes! In fact, the Bible is an absolute!

2 Timothy 3:16

All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right.

Jeremiah 24:7

“I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the LORD. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart”

Malachi 3:6

“I the LORD do not change. So you, O descendants of Jacob, are not destroyed.”

Psalm 93:5

Your royal laws cannot be changed.
Your reign, O Lord, is holy forever and ever.

These are just a few of the MANY examples of absolutes that the Bible gives us!

I know this doesn’t have anything to do with relationships exactly, but it was just something I was thinking about.

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 05 2010
Sarah Iverson

So true! Nice job Kelly!

25 05 2010
Laura

I’m so glad you posted this on your blog. It’s a great article!
Laura :-D

Leave a Reply

