3 Types of Friends (part 2)

30 05 2010

To me, one the greatest stories of friendship in the Bible is the Story of David and Jonathan. They are such an awesome picture of the kind of friendships we should have! The friendships that pull us up!

Jonathans Dad was King Saul and Saul wanted to kill David. And because of the friendship of David and Jonathan, Jonathan was able to save David and his father was unable to kill him (Found in Samuel). The biggest reasons for the success of their friendship and the love that they had for each other. I was reading a book and here are some things they said made them such great friends. They…

Assented to the same authority

Knew the same God

Were going the same way

Longed for the same things

Dreamed mutual dreams….

And yearned for the same experiences of holiness and worship.

How do you expect to become stronger in Christ if your friends aren’t helping you? David and Jonathan helped each other because they had the same goals. I’m not saying completely distance yourselves from the  friends who don’t do these things, and/or ignore them. Because they need you to show them Christ, BUT if they are influencing you more than you are influencing them, then there is a problem. David and Jonathan had the same goal in life…To Glorify God in EVERYTHING they did! He was in the front of their friendship. They were influencing each other in a positive way. He was their passion and their desire!

I realized that you really aren’t going to find a friend like David or Jonathan with out BEING that kind of friend. That sounds really cliché and I’m sorry. When we moved my parents told me to “be a friend if I want a friend.” But when you think about it, it’s the truth. Are you the kind of friend you want to have? I know I’m not always…But why aren’t we?

Just think about it for a second….would you want to hang around you? Here are some things that make a good friend or things to do to be a good friend…

Be loyal

Be honest- 9 Love prospers when a fault is forgiven,
but dwelling on it separates close friends. Proverbs 17:9 This means that you need to be upfront and honest with your friends even when it hurts.

Be careful with girl friendships- it is so easy to ruin those guy girl friendship!

Be an encourager- you don’t have to be stupid about this like it could sound. When your friend comes to you and is like “My day is a piece of junk and I can’t get through it. Just be like “hey! I’m here for you and praying for you..you’ll get through it!”

4 The Sovereign Lord has given me his words of wisdom,
so that I know how to comfort the weary.
Morning by morning he wakens me
and opens my understanding to his will. Isaiah 50:4

Be praying! There is nothing better you can do for you friend than to pray for them! You can be used by God but God is the only thing that can help them. Keep praying!

BY doing these things you are being the type of friend that pulls people up! It is sooo much easier to pull people down or along….but don’t take the easy road out on this one. A true friend strengthens you with their prayers and encourages you with their heart.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 06 2010
Lauralea

Good post!
Hey, you must be excited about a certain trip coming up really soon… :-D
I can’t wait to hear about your Summit experience!
Lauralea

2 06 2010
Kelly

haha OH MAN! I’m so pumped! 11 more days! you excited??

3 06 2010
Lauralea

No, I’m not excited. Well maybe a little. Well, MAYBE A LOT!
I wish I could say I have 11 days until my camp. I have 64. :-D
I know I’m staying in one of the houses at Green Lake Conference Center. I was looking at them yesterday online. Pretty nice! Seeing the place in pictures makes me even more excited! I can’t wait for the the info packet to come, cause I only have an accpetance letter I keep reading over and over. ;-)
I can hardly contain myself. I’m reading the blogs for Colorado at the Summit site. I even put up a page on my blog about it… even though it’s months away…
Have fun and let me know which workshops I need to pay attention to more ;-)
Lauralea

Leave a Reply

