Devo Numero Uno

15 07 2010

I thought a lot about Moses.  When God called on him to speak for his people, he wanted God to send his brother instead.  What was the problem?  Like me, Moses had a speech problem.  I too, want my brother to step up and speak for me.  This time he can’t help, my relationship with God is MY RELATIONSHIP with God.  And you know what, God is the best friend I have.

Exodus 33: 11 “The Lord would speak to Moses face to face, as a man

Speaks with his friend…”

1 Sam.13:14    God to David, “…man after his heart.”

James 2: 23      “…and he was called God’s friend.”

A relationship with God doesn’t have to be just within the Bible.  “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.”  John 15:13.

“You are my friends if you do what I command.”  John 15:14

God loved me enough to send his son to die for me!  Wow!

Like any friendship it needs to grow.  You need communication.  You need to spend time on the relationship.  You need to respect, love, and trust your friend.  We can communicate through prayer.  We can get to know more about the Lord through his word (The Bible).  I love and trust my Friend as loves me.

What a Friend We Have in Jesus   (old hymn)

What a friend we have in Jesus, All our sins and griefs to bear!

What a privilege to carry     Everything to God in prayer!

O what peace we often forfeit, O what need – less pain we bear,

All because we do not carry   Everything to God in prayer!

-Thomas

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

