Devo Number 10

5 10 2010

Our lives are full of ups and downs, highs and lows. You go on a youth retreat, youth conference, or a missions trip and the feeling you get is awesome! You want to spend time with God, you are motivated to change how you live your life, and live your life for him! But then something happens.You stop desiring God, you fall into the same habits and patterns of your life that you had before, and that fire you had to save your friends is gone some how. That two weeks or maybe even months of being on fire for God has been changed from a roaring fire to a sizzling flame.

When I hit these lows in my walk with Christ my first instinct is to say “God why aren’t you there anymore?” But it’s not God who walked away or drifted, it’s me. We tend to get comfortable in our walk with Christ and it’s easy to get out of the habit of spending time with God when this happens. I know that usually when God feels distant to me, I can look back and say “Well, I stopped reading my Bible as often, or when I did read it I wasn’t really paying attention. I also wasn’t very consistant in my prayer life.” So it’s all me.

Look at this quote I took from the book Relationships by Dean Sherman (Great book by the way):

“Suppose tomorrow morning I wake up and feel unsaved. I don’t feel one bit of love for God. I try to read my Bible but it’s boring. I try to concentrate in church, but my mind keeps wandering to what I had for dinner. Have you ever had days like that? I have. Now, if I walk on and keep committed to the Lord even though I lack a lot of feelings, eventually the feelings return. I go back to knowing I am saved, and I enjoy reading my Bible again. If, however, I act on my feelings and stop going to church, reading my Bible and praying, it is most likely that the feelings will not return and I will give up Christianity. It happens all the time.”

I just want to encourage you! Just because you don’t FEEL God, doesn’t mean He’s not there. Keep striving toward Him! Living the Christian life isn’t about feeling all the time, sometimes it takes pure belief that HE is the ONE TRUE GOD!

Kelly

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 10 2010
Adam

Thank you for sharing this Kelly :)

I wrestled with this for a time in my life: ‘Faith based on feelings’. I realized later that it’s called ‘Yo-Yo Faith’ (Happy when things are up, sad when circumstances are down). That type of faith will always let me down and as a result I stray from God and live with regret. Therefore, I CHOOSE to live by faith. Yes it is difficult to put into action sometimes, but as believers we are called to stay committed, faithful, and loyal servants to God–clinging wholeheartedly to his promises (word of God) even when circumstances, emotions, appearances, people, and human reason all seem to urge something to the contrary.

Paul exercised this level of faith when he said, “When neither sun nor stars appeared for many days and the storm continued raging, we finally gave up all hope of being saved” (Acts 27:20), then nevertheless Paul went on to say, “Keep up your courage, men, for I have Faith IN God that it will happen just as he told me” (Acts 27:25. Paul experienced many circumstances and trails which tested his faith, but he anchored his faith in God’s unwavering word and as a result saw the faithfulness of God. God is ALWAYS faithful and will never leave or forsake us.

“Fair-weather faith is not faith at all.” – Charles H. Spurgeon

7 10 2010
Laura(lea) H

Thumbs up…
:-D
Seriously, these are great thoughts. This happens to the best of us… and finally somebody (ahem…you) addresses it.
;-)

10 10 2010
Of Mountains and Valleys, Michigan and (sigh) Pennsylvania « Echoes In The Wind

[…] ) I figured, hey, why don’t I post this? And, after reading this post  and this post and that post, I remembered I had to finish this and post it […]

Leave a Reply

