Lead Me

18 11 2010

Leadership. It’s your role, take it.

I once wrote a post about nice guys. But guys should not simply be “nice guys.” Yes, you should be gentlemen and be kind to people, but the words “nice guy” tends to carry the connotation of  weakness. Men of God are not weak, they fight, they lead, and they take risks. They also love, care, and do what’s right. They realize they are frail human beings. They realize they make mistakes, but they also know that Christ is their strength. They do not accept the lie that they can’t be a strong man and a leader because they are a young (1 Timothy 4:12).

Tonight I was very proud of a friend of mine. He lead, not because he had to and not because he was made to, but because he he chose to. This friend has never been one to volunteer to lead. We’ve always had to push him some, but tonight he wanted to. It wasn’t anything huge, but leadership is leadership no matter how big or small.

Christian women want Christian men to be leaders. So many times I think that when the men don’t lead, the women feel the need to step in. I know I do. This isn’t good. Things go much better when men are in charge. (gasp! A girl just said that?! Yes, I did because it’s true.)

I (as well as other Christian girls) long for strong, young, leaders. We want guys around who will lead us in life and in our spiritual walks. Sure, we can get that from our youth pastor or other male leaders in the church, but there is something incredibly encouraging about a young man taking his God-given position of leadership…and leading.

When guys lead I feel safe, I feel respected, and I feel like things are how God created them to be. When you lead, you gain my respect.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 11 2010
Ross Treadway

Hey Kelly! I haven’t visited your blog much, but it’s really cool! Thanks for posting this, and way to stand out and be different! It’s so refreshing to hear this kind of thing from young ladies, because it very rarely happens!
Thanks again!

17 04 2011
Emily Sue

Hi! I’m Emily…a fellow WordPress blogger. I was just browsing your blog (I found it through http://throwpebbles.wordpress.com) and came across this post. It made me think of a song by Sanctus Real, called “Lead Me”:

…In picture frames I see my beautiful wife
Always smiling, but on the inside
I can hear her sayin’

“Lead me with strong hands
Stand up when I can’t
Don’t leave me hungry for love
Chasing dreams; what about us?

Show me you’re willing to fight
That I’m still the love of your life
I know we call this our home
But I still feel alone”

Look it up — it’s a great song. :) The singer goes on to talk about his children needing him, and finally how he needs God to help him be the leader of his family. :) Great post…I really enjoyed it.

Blessings,
Emily

Leave a Reply

