Wait. Trust. Seek Him.

3 04 2011

I think God uses singleness to draw us closer to Him. In the moments where I feel like I need a guy or that I want a relationship, I feel a tug from God where He says “Come back to me. I’ve got what you need.”  I have to re-adjust my thinking and move toward Him again. It’s then that we become more content in our relationship status. Trying to trust that God’s plan is better than our own. And it is better, it’s just hard to see.

This is definitely easier said than done. If you’re single and you go somewhere and all of your friends are dating/married, you want what they have. We almost look at God and go “See that God? I want that. If you could throw some my way THEN I’d be content.” But God wants us to use this time to solidify our relationships with Him. This time can be used to grow and prepare. But remember, no one said it would be fun all the time. Loneliness and longing for someone does come and that’s not bad! It’s what we do with it. Seek the Lord with all of your heart! (Deuteronomy 4:29-31)

Wait for the Lord; Be strong, and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord. (Psalm 27:14)

Pray that God would make you content in your singleness so that He can use you! Waiting on God’s timing is something I struggle with in every aspect of my life. Whether it’s relationships, work, college, etc. I’m always looking ahead to what’s next, when I should be focused on today and how I can glorify God. After all, it’s God who has put me where I am.

Just Wait. Oh how I long to graciously and contentedly wait on the Lord.

Actions

Information

One response

3 04 2011
leeleegirl4

Waiting for God can be extremely difficult sometimes but following God is much better than doing things our own way. I’ve been learning this too.

Leave a Reply

