Devo 27

28 04 2011

We are selfish. Have you ever noticed that? If you haven’t, you need to open your eyes to the world and get out of your own little bubble because there are more people than just you hurting.

This weekend my friend’s had the shock of a lifetime. A good friend of theirs took his own life. Hearing this broke my heart! Suicide is a very real reality and the pain of it is excruciating! As I watch my friends hurt, I hurt and it puts my life in perspective. My little “hardships” that I’m going through right now are so small in comparison.

We work together at a sandwich place, and as they grieve it shows at work. They can’t hide it or put it aside while at their job, it simply doesn’t work that way. But some of our coworkers are less than sympathetic at times. They can’t see past themselves and their “problems.” They can’t put away their selfishness and just support, encourage, and love these people in the midst of this pain! This drives me crazy! The pain is unbearable for them and you can see it in their eyes! The least we can do is put aside ourselves and understand that life isn’t all about US.

When we step back and take a look at our lives, what do we focus on? Is it how to make my life better? Or is it how to be selfless? Take a look around you. I guarantee you have people in your life who are hurting more than you are.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

